Chris Barron and Glen Phillips


Chart Topping '90s Alt Rock & Impressive Solo Careers

Why you should see this show…

Music Box is proud to present Chris Barron & Glen Phillips, two beloved lead singers from the chart topping ’90s Alternative Rock bands, Spin Doctors and Toad the Wet Sprocket. Focusing more on their impressive solo careers, this show has all the lyrical poetry and singing virtuosity that fans of Spin Doctors and Toad the Wet Sprocket can appreciate, alongside a range of new expression and seasoned songwriting.


Chris Barron Bio
Chris Barron is best known as the lead singer of the band Spin Doctors. What you maybe didn’t know is that long before he was that goofy guy in the hat on MTV, he was an even goofier kid with an acoustic guitar. Chris plays nifty chords on an old Gibson to masterfully crafted songs that are poignant yet wistful and funny, all the while singing in a manner that’s sweet and somewhat different from what you would expect if you only knew his hits, “Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong” and “Two Princes.” Live, his stage patter is almost as entertaining as his singing. A powerful story teller, at once hilarious and thought provoking, Chris sets up his songs with anecdotes from a life on the road, from opening for and encountering legends like the Rolling Stones to Polar expeditions. He says, “I don’t really think about what I’m going to say beforehand. I just say stuff and if it goes over well, I say more stuff like that later.”


Glen Phillips Bio
Glen Phillips is an American songwriter, lyricist, singer and guitarist. He is best known as the singer and songwriter of the alternative rock group Toad the Wet Sprocket.

Phillips began Toad the Wet Sprocket in 1986, at the age of 15. By 1988, they had signed with Columbia Records. They recorded five albums and many major tours until 1998.

During his time in Toad the Wet Sprocket, Phillips was involved in a pop rock project called Flapping, Flapping.

Three years later, Phillips released his first solo album, Abulum, which was a change from the sound that Toad the Wet Sprocket was known for. This was followed up by a self-released live album and solo touring, along with a reunion tour with his former Toad bandmates

In 2004, Phillips, with Nickel Creek, released a long-awaited collaboration as Mutual Admiration Society. The self-titled album had been recorded in 2000 and featured songs written by both Phillips alone and as collaborative efforts, and was released on Sugar Hill Records.

In 2005, Phillips returned to a major label via Universal Records’ imprint Lost Highway Records and released the critically acclaimed Winter Pays For Summer. The album included the radio single “Duck and Cover,” but Phillips and the label would part ways due to creative differences. A compilation of six outtakes from the album were published as an EP titled Unlucky 7, the first track (“The Hole”) of which was featured in the second episode of the AMC television series Breaking Bad.
Phillips released his third proper solo album, Mr. Lemons in the spring of 2006. The music video for the album’s first single, “Everything But You,” made its debut as a Yahoo! Exclusive Premiere on May 11, 2006.

In 2007 Phillips reunited with Sara Watkins and Sean Watkins of Nickel Creek as well as Grant-Lee Phillips and Luke Bulla to perform as part of The Various & Sundry Tour.

In January 2008, Phillips released an EP with Talk Talk and Peter Gabriel influences titled Secrets of the New Explorers.

In January 2008, it was reported by Billboard that a new supergroup octet had formed. The genesis of the project came via a “Glen Phillips and Friends” evening hosted by the Sings Like Hell concert series at Santa Barbara’s Lobero Theatre in February 2007. The ensemble reunited in Jim Scott’s recording studio a year later and by September 2008 the collective settled upon the name Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.). In its octet configuration, WPA features Phillips, Sean Watkins (guitar), his sister Sara Watkins (fiddle), Benmont Tench (piano), Luke Bulla (fiddle), Greg Leisz (various), Pete Thomas (drums), and Davey Faragher (bass). The group also performs as a quintet featuring Phillips, Watkins, Bulla, and bassist Sebastian Steinberg. The results of the 2008 recording sessions were released as this album on September 15, 2009.

Phillips has also completed an album with Neilson Hubbard and Garrison Starr under the band name, Plover, released October 23, 2008.

In 2009, Phillips was involved in the soundtrack of the film Imagine That. He covers The Beatles’ song “I’ll Follow the Sun.”

On April 5, 2018, Glen Phillips announced that he had signed with Compass Records Group. His 2016 album, Swallowed By the New, was re-released on May 4, 2018, with a new bonus track: “Nobody’s Gonna Get Hurt.”


Dining Options

You have two dining options when attending a show in our Concert Hall:

Rusty Anchor at the Music Box – If you’d enjoy a more extensive menu, we suggest you dine downstairs in the Rusty Anchor before your concert. The Rusty Anchor menu features a great mix of Cleveland Comfort food including a selection of seafood, steaks & chops. Reservations are required for parties of two or more. To make a dinner reservation, please click here or call our Box Office at (216) 242-1250 and allow 90 minutes to dine prior to the beginning of the show upstairs.

Concert Hall – Our Concert Hall menu is fast to the table and allows you to dine right in your ticketed seat. So, there is no additional reservation required. The Concert Hall kitchen will be open through intermission. Table side beverage service will continue throughout the concert.


Just sign up for our concert alerts.

We announce new concerts weekly. Must be a new subscriber to receive free tickets.

You have Successfully Subscribed!